Holy Quietude: Our appointment with God

My Back YardC

Being “still and quiet” is a rare commodity these days.  My world is bustling with life just as much as yours.  With family commitments, business, friends, and living in a world that doesn’t stop talking , at times, it feels like I’m on a not so “merry go-round” and I want off.  Have you ever felt that way?  I was sharing with my friends that I am missing those days spent on my  patio  in the countryside with my Father, God.

            “In me you live and move and have your being.”  Acts 17:28

Once we moved to our new home, It’s been difficult to be disciplined in spending my Saturday mornings with “Him.”   The Lord reminded me of those times and I felt He was nudging me to become disciplined again to meet Him on our patio.  Although I regularly attend church, in remembering those backyard visits, I realized they were “Holy Special.”  So, I have re-committed to meeting Him in the quiet of the morning — it’s my appointment with God.   My Back YardC

Psalm 37:7 invites us to “Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for Him.”  A time of resting, sitting alone, to converse with God and commune with our hearts silencing all discontented, distrustful thoughts and all that weighs us down.   I have found there is strength and confidence in my quiet submission to the will of God in keeping my appointment with Him on Saturday mornings versus being out running around here and there.

While in His presence, in His Word, and in my meditation I embrace His strength and security.   It’s in that time that I receive a  peace over my conscious mind.  My faith is strengthened by His blessed assurance that He knows everything I am feeling, everything that is happening in my life, and that not only does He have the answers, He has my back.  He cares.

           “I am also the Father who comforts you in all your troubles.”  2 Cor 1:3-4

We are not to think ourselves wiser than God, for our thoughts, the decisions we make can lead to sorrow or our ruin.  He wants us to depend on Him.  He desires that we spend time with Him leaving behind all that enslaves us, casting down all our cares.  Being with Him  is a time for resting and recharging, quickly listening and humbly responding instead of reacting to the “whats” of our day and our lives.  Having complete and total confidence in Him.

          “Be still, and know that I am God.”  Psalm 46:10.

That verse is etched into a piece of wood that sits on a shelf in my library.  I was drawn to those Words of God years ago, and to this day, it still causes me to pause and question if I am really doing that.   To “be still” means to cast down, to let everything hang down.  It’s a time to relax, not to exert yourself, leaving all your matters with God without feeling anxious.  It’s a time to be in a trustful state of mind when surrounded and plagued by life’s “bumps on the road.”  During those times, get out your Bible, read it and deeply, quietly reflect on His Word and His promises.

       “To God belong wisdom and power; counsel and understanding are his.”  Job 12:13

The Word tells us that God is our fountain of wisdom, power, justice, goodness, and truth.  His Word encourages us not to give in to a spirit of fear or despair because He Is the great  “I Am.”  In other words, He is whatever we need in our lives and He promises to never ever abandon us.  He always comes through, He always answers.

God is our strong tower, our refuge, a place to run to.  Psalm 91 tells us that we can find shelter beneath His wings.  There is strength in those thoughts as conveyed by His Word.  As we face the challenges brought about by living in this world, there is nothing that we have to face alone.  He asks us to “call on Him, to cry out to Him,” and He will be there to walk with us and, when needed to carry us.  He will give us rest and quiet, when we struggle to find the “quiet” in our days.

         ” I am able to do more for you than you could possibly imagine.”  Ephesians 3:20

So if you are feeling fretful, impatient, or restless, submit to Him, be still and wait for Him.  Regardless of your circumstances, be content with who you are in Him.  Acknowledge that He is God, lean not unto your own understanding, and He shall give you rest and make your paths straight.  Prov. 3:5-6

So put yourself on “time-out” and get quiet with God and you might be amazed at what He has to tell you.   I have found that when I meet with God He brings me a gift — the gift of Himself, His presence.  There is nothing more precious that being in the presence of my Lord, for He is the perfect Father.  (Matt.5:48)

So I leave you with this thought:  Quietness means you don’t have to argue for your side when God is on your side.

God Bless You!

P.S.  If you enjoyed this article please share it and click on “Like”  button below.   I am also interested in reading your comments on how you spend “solitary” time with God.  Share your comments below.

Comments
2 Responses to “Holy Quietude: Our appointment with God”
  1. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better!

    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He continually kept preaching about this. I will send this post to him.
    Pretty sure he’s going to have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

What do you think?

  • Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

